Story Times & Programs

UPDATES:


Take a peek at our calendar of events below to see all our cool programs! We have storytimes, reading to therapy dogs, Zeus and Sadie, plus several other fun activities!

Chess Club for Kids is hosted once a month on a Saturday from 3-4pm.  Please check the calendar for registration information. 

Legos for kids in the library is hosted once monthly on a Sunday from 3-4pm. See calendar below for information.

If you are interested in helping our chess mentor or helping us with chess instruction opportunities for kids in the future, please contact the children's department at 615-595-1244 or apply to volunteer here

 Get Caught Reading in the children's dept. and you may get surprised with a prize! While supplies last!

The WCPL Library System will be CLOSED in Observance of Columbus Day on Monday October 10.  Regular hours will resume on Tuesday, October 11


Story Times  

All In-Person Story Times are back! Join us for stories, songs, rhymes, and more fun! Registration is not required.  Space is limited. You may be asked to join the second session if the first one is too full. These are held weekly unless otherwise noted. We are using our children's activity room for story times so we can accommodate more friends with the space to move around. If you choose to wear a mask to story times they are warmly welcomed but not required.

  • Toddler Story Time with Ms. Barbara (for ages 18 months to 3 years old) Tuesday @ --9:30, 10:15, & 11 am
  •  Snuggle Bug Babies with Ms. Marie  Wednesdays @ either sessions # 1 10:00-10:20 am OR session #2 10:30-10:50 am
  •  Preschool Story Time with Ms. Liz Thursdays @ either session # 1 10:00-10:30 am OR  Sessions #2 10:45-11:15 am
  • Preschool Story Time with Ms. Stephanie  Fridays @ either session # 1 10:00-10:30  am OR  Sessions #2 10:45-11:15 am

Follow us on our Children's Department Facebook page for program news and other fun content.


You can find story times at Digital Story Time!  

Children 11 and under must always be accompanied by a caregiver in the Children's Department.  

  1. Thu Sep. 15 - Fri Sep. 30

  2. Thu Sep. 29

  3. Thu Sep. 29

  4. Fri Sep. 30

  5. Fri Sep. 30

  6. Tue Oct. 4

  7. Tue Oct. 4

  8. Tue Oct. 4

  9. Wed Oct. 5

  10. Wed Oct. 5

  11. Fri Oct. 7

  12. Sat Oct. 8

  13. Sat Oct. 8

  14. Tue Oct. 11

  15. Tue Oct. 11

  16. Tue Oct. 11

  17. Wed Oct. 12

  18. Wed Oct. 12

  19. Thu Oct. 13

  20. Sun Oct. 16

  21. Tue Oct. 18

  22. Tue Oct. 18

  23. Tue Oct. 18

  24. Wed Oct. 19

  25. Wed Oct. 19

  26. Sat Oct. 22

  27. Tue Oct. 25

  28. Tue Oct. 25

  29. Tue Oct. 25

  30. Wed Oct. 26

  31. Wed Oct. 26

  32. Wed Nov. 2

  33. Wed Nov. 2

  34. Sat Nov. 5

  35. Wed Nov. 9

View All



Recommended Sites for Playing Online Chess From Dr. Dan, our Chess Mentor

Chess Kid Online Chess

Learning Chess.net for kids


Be sure to check our calendar every month so you don’t miss out on any of the fun!